ONE IN A HUNDRED


On my travels I often take a huge amount of photos. This has certainly been the case during my first 11 weeks in Far North Queensland.

There is a reason for taking so many photos.

The more I take, the better the chance I’ll have of taking a ‘special’ photo, that ‘one in a hundred shot’ that would make a great painting.

I’m still sorting through the 350 photos that I took at Chillagoe last week, but I have already earmarked two that I wish to draw and a third that is made up of 4 images.

I’m quite excited by the potential of the three possible artworks that I have from this trip. I may even ‘find’ another one or two from the remaining photos.

Yesterday morning after breakfast by the beach, I collected quite a number of stones to add to my ‘Trinity Beach collection’.

Grist for the mill.

Today’s photo is of the third of my 3 drawings that I am currently working on. This drawing is developing nicely and I hope to have it completed over the next week.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ONE IN A HUNDRED

  1. April says:

    Coming along nicely. There is something to be said for working from one’s own photos. I had a go at a couple of celebrity portraits for the heck of it to see if I could get a likeness, which I did, but it lacked something…good technically but like buying a cake as opposed to baking your own lol
    Your drawing is coming along really well Richard. 🙂

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks for your comments, April. I love your ‘Kate Bush’ avatar. I’m not into portraits, but if I was, I wouldn’t choose pencil. Pastel is a very sensitive medium and it’s perfect for portraits. Oil paint is of course, is the other alternative.

  2. Gillian says:

    This is so 3D it jumps from the page – love the colours too. Is this more the Tasmanian you rather than your new tropical persona emerging again?

    • artkleko says:

      When finished, this drawing won’t be as ‘Tasmanian’ as it currently appears, Gillian. I’m trying to blend rocks from ‘north’ and ‘south’. I’m glad you like the 3D look, that’s something I want this drawing to have.
      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

