SAND ABSTRACTS


Last week while walking along the beach at Cape Tribulation I came across an area of sand that had a very different colour and texture than the rest of the beach.

The contrast was due to the daily tidal flow and had resulted in some lovely examples of abstraction.

Today’s digital images are variations of one particular photo that I took. I see in these images the potential for a very large painting featuring raised areas of texture.

A strong landscape feeling prevails.

Cape Tribulation and the Daintree are iconic Australian places, world-class and both are very spiritual in their relationship with the sea and the landscape. Here ther rainforest literally meets the sea. If you get the chance, you must visit this area. Artists will find a treasure trove of possibilities.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SAND ABSTRACTS

  1. Ester Roi says:

    Richard, these are beautiful abstract pictures and I can’t wait to see how you are going to translate them into drawings.

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks, Ester. Lovely to hear from you. I’m thinking that this is a job for the Icarus Board! I’m still keen to purchase one early next year. We’re aiming to return from our ‘gap year’ in April. I shall keep reading your updates.
      Regards, Richard

  2. Gillian says:

    How wonderful – just the sort natural effects that I’m drawn to as well. Sometimes Keith and I feel a bit silly when we stop to look closely at such things or take photos. I’ve been known to take images of drains and dropped litter!
    I’m enjoying your new experiences, Richard. x

    • artkleko says:

      Ahhh Gillian, the things we do in the name of art! Glad to know that I’m not alone in such things!
      I look forward to your blog posts.
      Warmest regards, Richard x

  3. Mira Faraday says:

    Richard,
    Your art work here is so unique. I love the energy it pushes towards the viewer. Texture is so wonderful and enlivening as well.
    I shall be back to linger longer weekly. Please keep us posted as to where the road leads you with your wonderful creative inspirations.
    Many smiles across the miles,
    Mira Faraday
    http://la-dolce-far-niente.com
    From Texas, US

  4. The sand abstracts are amazing, such color and pattern. You’re lucky to live close to a world class spot, Cape Tribulation.

Leave a Reply

