LAYERING


One of the techniques used to create a coloured pencil painting involves layering. This is where a number of layers of coloured pencil is applied to build up the colour to its required depth. This usually means applying the pencil lightly each time.

This technique is brilliant when you need to ‘create’ a colour that is not in your pencil tin.

Of course one needs to experiment with various pencils to obtain the right colour. Whatever you do, always do your ‘research’ on the same colour paper or board that you intend for your pencil painting.

This is one of the techniques that I will be demonstrating at next month’s Cairns ARTescape.

Today’s artwork is a selection of rocks from Cow Bay in the Daintree. There is a great variety of colour and texture in these rocks and I have a lot to do if I am to do justice to this subject.

On Monday Val and I are returning to the Daintree for the day to visit the Daintree Discovery Centre, where I hope to ‘gather’ some more photos of the rainforest.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to LAYERING

  1. Jacquie says:

    I just love your work. Do you burnish? Thanks J.

    • artkleko says:

      Hi Jacquie, I don’t burnish, but I do use a Derwent colourless blender with all my cp pencils. I spray my work with fixitive at the end of each day’s drawing.

  2. Hi Richard…layering definitely is advisable. I love watching your pieces develop. I’ve always looked at your work and thought: coloured pastel….I have to pinch myself to believe it’s pencil. Brilliant work and no doubt another for your show next year?

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks, April. The key to good pencil work is colour intensity, hence layering. I’m not sure where this drawing will go. I’ve decided to just ‘draw’ when I can and pick the most appropriate work out when the time comes for my exhibition. I’m having 3 distinct sections – realism, symbolism and abstraction (in that order).
      I want to start with the ‘known’ as one enters the gallery and conclude with the ‘unknown’ on the way out.
      When I get back to Tasmania I’m will measure the gallery space and work out exactly how much work I need, their sizes and how the exhibition will hang.

Leave a Reply

