TATTOO UPDATE


I have been able to spend some more time on my latest abstract drawing, Tattooed Rock, Sisters Beach. It’s 80 x 60 cm and I’m using white Canson Pastel Board for the first time in a long while. I chose this particular pastel board as I needed to show a lot of (even) white. Using a white pencil over a coloured background would never result in the evenness of colour that this drawing requires.

This is a ‘process-driven’ artwork where sitting down for an hour here and there to add more detail is quite relaxing and a perfect example of art therapy.

The secret is to know when to ‘stop’. One can keep adding to this type of drawing for months, but it’s important to keep in mind what you initially set out to achieve when the drawing was first planned.

I have enclosed some close-up views that give a more abstract understanding of the structure of the composition.

It’s not finished, but there’s enough information already to keep me inspired and see this drawing through.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TATTOO UPDATE

  1. Tomas says:

    Dear Richard,
    Your drawings are so inspiring…Thank you. Though we live far away from each other, yet your pictures portray the same view that awake us both. I greatly enjoyed your drawings. I can’t agree with you just for one – Your art isn’t abstract at all. That’s the documentary evidence of your heart, which blooms with love. Thank you once again for your fabulous steps on the web. They enrich art by Tomas each time I see you artworks anew.

    • artkleko says:

      Thank you so much Tomas for your words of encouragement. I am grateful for the Internet as it has enabled me to meet inspiring people like you. God bless.

Leave a Reply

