DIGITAL ABSTRACT


I had a very profitable day yesterday which resulted in some quality drawing time, research and blogging. I will post an update of my latest drawing of rocks at Cow Bay, on Friday.

I have also commenced another drawing, this time from Chillagoe. I am keen to produce a large-scale drawing of this particular subject, but I want to see it first on a smaller scale, that being 60 x 40 cm. If I do decide to produce a larger version it will contain a series of symbols that relate to the unique nature of the Chillagoe landscape. I shall post an update next week.

Walter’s comment yesterday (walterwsmith.wordpress.com)and my visit to his site, prompted me to produce another digital work as you can see.

I really enjoy this type of artwork and I’m seriously considering taking this ‘interest’ to another level through creating large-scale work for sale and setting up my own digital art blog.

I shall have to give this some thought.

Today’s image was inspired by on old galvanised water tank that I came across near the Herberton Mining Museum on the Atherton Tablelands in Far North Queensland. The patches and areas of rust give this subject a lot of character.

Tomorrow: The opposite of ‘artist’s block’.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to DIGITAL ABSTRACT

  1. Ester Roi says:

    Richard, you have such a unique, creative way of looking at the world. A blog on digital images will be a reflection of your personal vision. I say: “go for it!” – it’s sure to be a success.

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks for your encouragement Ester. I have to think this possibility through as it will be at the expense of my drawing time. I am planning for a major show in 2012 while I’m away as well as setting myself some challenges, an Icarus Drawing Board being one of them!
      Regards, Richard

  2. Lorraine McNeair says:

    Hello Richard. I was going to post a comment yesterday, but didn’t, but now that someone else has made a comment, I will too. I would like to learn more about digital art, as I am afraid I do not know how it is done. What I was going to suggest was that it could be a topic for a workshop for the BCAG, but would everyone have to have a laptop/computer for this.

    • artkleko says:

      Hi Lorriane,
      The biggest drawback to such a class is the availability of laptops and the appropriate software.
      I would be happy though to share my way of working in an art class.
      Regards, Richard

  3. Gillian says:

    This is like an embroidery to my eye – such beautiful colours and texture. I’m a big digi fan myself so I say go for it!

  4. Jacquie says:

    I love this image. I can’t wait to see what you come up with. Great pics and thanks again for sharing. I just love your site.

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks Jacquie, it’s people like you that give me the incentive to keep this blog going.
      This particular abstract is certainly on my ‘to-do’ list. I have a 7 week ‘window of opportunity’ following the Cairns ARTescape to get some quality artwork done.

Leave a Reply

