CHILLAGOE LANDSCAPE


Chillagoe Landscape

60 x 40 cm  Prismacolor and Polychromos pencils on Canson pastel board.

My latest drawing is finished and I have ‘filed’ it with the other drawings I have completed while on my ‘gap year’ in Far North Queensland.

This drawing was inspired by a visit to the Ipswich Art Gallery 10 years ago where I saw a seam of coal on a wall behind a clear screen. I was most impressed and when I saw the piles of slag at the Chillagoe Smelters, my mind recalled that gallery visit and the coal seam.

What I like about this composition is that all the rocks are part of a whole – everything seems to have its place.

For sale as a print or a card on my Redbubble site.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to CHILLAGOE LANDSCAPE

  1. Tomas says:

    I like the Chillagoe Landscape. Lots of pictures arise from your drawing while viewing it, and the landscape starts looking like my own diary in spite of the fact that I do not see any alike at my home.
    That may look like some mystic, yet the way you present your works excludes any ‘lucky accidents” – your posts convinces in the consciousness of each pen stroke here and thus double my desire to bow to you. Thank you for the sharing the pictures that teach art by Tomas – show the approach the artist should have . I would greatly appreciate your visit to my blog (my online art gallery) and hope to receive your constructive comments that would enable me to to improve my sharing. Thank you in advance.

  2. Jacquie says:

    I really like this on too. Your work inspires me to continue on with my struggle with colored pencils. I really enjoy this blog. Keep posting.

  3. Cathy Holtom says:

    I like the limited colours you have used on this, it’s amazingly complicated and very simple all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

