MY GLOVER DIARY: Entry 2.


A symbol is introduced…

I’m still working on my first panel and I’ve spent a deal of time thinking through a number of options.

 

My biggest issue at present is that there’s too much ‘white’ on the panel. The drawing looks far too ‘graphic’, so I decided to add more colour. I’ve introduced a green (lime peel), because that colour will feature more prominently on the left panel.

 

I have used black outlines to create more clearly defined shapes, one of which represents outstretched arm, pointing towards the left panel. Its symbolic role will be revealed at a later stage.

 

To compliment the variety of ‘marks’ that appear on the drawing, I’ve added white, or should I say, left small areas white, for balance.

 

This coming week I’ll be away in Darwin, which means that there won’t be a diary entry next Saturday. I will post another entry in a fortnight’s time.

 

Before my next diary entry I intend to start on the second (left hand side) panel that will feature a strong, rural look.

More on Monday.

Richard

 

 

 

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MY GLOVER DIARY: Entry 2.

  1. Tomas says:

    I like this already. I see as a landscape as a lying figure on the stony ground here and that symbolism is not forced to the viewer, but comes so peacefully from the talking abstract.
    By the way, my picture http://arthiker.wordpress.com/2011/09/09/controversial-thoughts/ bears the similar mood despite all technical differences- shares the same freedom to see

  2. Hi Richard. This is looking really interesting. I love the colours and variation in size of the shapes. The arm adds another dimension and I will look forward to finding what it directs us to on the adjoining panel.

Leave a Reply

