ABSTRACT ART


Darwin Abstract 1.

41 x 29 cm   Prismacolor pencils on Canson Mi Teintes paper

FOR SALE    POA

The language of art is very broad. There is Realism, Photo-Realism, Impressionism, Expressionism, Symbolism, Abstraction and Semi-Abstraction, plus many other ways that painters ‘speak’ with their art.

Art has very few boundaries, that’s why it’s so popular and relevant to all civilizations. Where freedom of expression is encouraged is where you will find ‘honest’, individual art.

Abstract art is often criticised because for many, it is hard to understand and interpret. Most people base their understanding of art on what they know. They need to recognise and identify what they are looking at in order to feel comfortable with what is before them.

Looking at an arrangement of  just colours and shapes is a foreign language to most.

The other extreme is Photo-Realism, where the skill of the artist is celebrated with much fanfare. But where is the true ‘artist’ in this type of work?

I find abstraction a real challenge, but at the same time a wonderful process-driven form of art. I base my work on the Australian landscape, as I do with all of my art, but I ‘see’ it in a totally different way when I’m in the abstract ‘zone’.

Today’s featured abstract ‘speaks’ to me about the nature of the landscape in the Northern Territory through an arrangement of colours and shapes without giving you a recognisable landscape view.

You will no doubt ‘see’ things in this drawing. Although abstract, it certainly speaks to me about the spiritual nature of the landscape in question.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ABSTRACT ART

  1. Richard, I enjoy your abstract work and the style you have that can progress from realism to abstract in your work. I have been criticized for being too realistic, that photo realistic work can lack creativity. My artist friends and I find it is so much more difficult to create an effective abstract composition than to observe and draw realism, so kudos to you!

    • artkleko says:

      Thank you, Kendra for your kind remarks. I enjoy the challenge of abstraction, but it’s quite frustrating at times, especially when it comes to trying to sell the artwork. However, I intend to keep fighting the good fight!
      Tropical regards, Richard

Leave a Reply

