RECORDING AS YOU GO


I often take photos of my artwork at various stages of its development. I use it as a teaching tool on this blog, but I also find that it’s handy for myself in that it gives me a greater appreciation of everything contained within each artwork.

If things don’t work out, I can look back and see where I went wrong. There are times when I ‘over-work’ a painting, and a review of my photos will tell me where I should have ‘stopped’. Fortunately this doesn’t happen too often.

We are now at Hervey Bay until January 16, and I haven’t done any drawing for a couple of weeks. I do however, hope to put pencil to paper (or board) soon, as I’m starting to get a little agitated at not being in my studio.

The secret when photographing your work in its various stages of development is to take lots of shots. In today’s featured drawing there are only 3, I should have taken at least 8, but at the time I simply forgot. I must have been well and truly in the ‘creative zone’!

Photo 1: Block out the main features and draw in the background.

Photo 2: Draw and detail the subject.

Photo 3: Detail the foreground and add the finishing touches.

Next year I intend to take a lot more photos of my artwork as each piece ‘grows’.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RECORDING AS YOU GO

  1. Edna says:

    Yes Richard, I find that taking progress photos is a great way to see how you are progressing. It’s particularly useful for me when doing acrylic abstract works that seem to grow from a basic idea that is not sourced from a photograph but rather from a colour palette and shapes. I tend to paint many layers of glazes and solid colour to build up an image that has a ‘harmony’. Sometimes when I look back at the progress photos I find that the painting has become something completely different from my original thoughts.
    That’s my challenge.

    • artkleko says:

      Creating an abstract is a journey in itself and recording one’s time at the easel, watching your painting grow is personally, very valuable. Thanks for your thoughts Edna.

Leave a Reply

