NEW DRAWING: THE VERDICT


 
Rockface

41 x 29 cms   Prismacolors on black Canson paper

Time to review my latest drawing.

As this was an exercise I wasn’t worried if it failed to meet my expectations.

I wanted to create a drawing featuring rocks with an ‘insert,’ as I want to create a much larger piece next year, possibly for an entry in the Dobell Drawing Prize.

Originally, I wanted to work with two groups of Prismacolor greys, but this didn’t eventuate as the black paper I worked on struggled to reveal the true tonal value of the pencils I used.

The drawing is finished, but it could do with some gouache highlights. The coloured pencil highlights I added don’t work as well as I expected.

The ‘insert’ of cool greys is too wide.

Having to work with a completely different colour palette on the inside section meant that it would naturally (visually) ‘dominate’; I wanted a more subtle result.

I am convinced that my original plan will work. I’ll just have to wait until I get back to my studio!

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

