MY BRAIN IS FULL!


The other day I remembered a cartoon by Gary Larson (The Far Side), where a school boy asks the teacher if he could leave the class room as his brain was full. After discovering that I have already taken over 6,500 photos on our trip, that’s how I felt!

I have so much information that I’m getting a little tired of taking photos. But I must keep going as we have only 2 months to go and I want to have plenty of choice for my exhibition in March 2013. I have started ‘short-listing’ the places that I want to feature and filing selected works from which I will decide exactly what I paint.

Last week we visited Fraser Island and had a great day, with many photos taken of course! If you haven’t been there, you must pay a visit. It’s the largest sand island in the world, and there are very few rocks. How did I cope? Well, there was what is known as ‘coffee rock’, that’s the rock you have when you haven’t any (real) rock. It’s made from compressed organic matter (hummus) and it’s brown in colour.

Today’s image is a combination of 2 photos from the Maheno, a ship that ran aground on the eastern side of the island in 1935. It still needs a bit of work, but I think that it would make a nice painting (not the ship – the photo).

You can see photos of the Maheno on my photoblog, this Friday.

On Friday I ‘road-test’ some Canson TEX paper.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

