THE POWER OF WHITE 1.


During my time at the Tasmanian School of Art my work was strongly hard-edged. My paintings, prints, drawings and sculptures contained strongly defined shapes and clear lines. I don’t really know why. I see so much ‘softness’ around me, especially in the Australian landscape, but I tend to draw ‘strongly’.

My graphite drawings are a prime example of my ‘strong’ work, regardless of the subjects. I love positive and negative shapes, strongly defined light and shadow and simplicity.

We often think of white as ‘space’ in such work, but I value white very highly.

Today I have included 2 examples of houses in graphite and I have added an inverted view to illustrate the power of black and white when switched.

The inverted versions are not as successful, but they are valuable in that they give one confirmation that the originals are balanced in tone.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to THE POWER OF WHITE 1.

  1. I find the reversals really interestng to ponder.
    The hard and soft edge thing I have also thought a lot about. I tend to favour soft, lost edges, hence my love of fluid media such as watercolour, silk painting (but preferable without gutta resist outlines) and encaustic (melted wax). Even in drawing I love the feathering technique and have a preference for tonal rather than linear rendition with graphite. And yet with a maths background you could expect a more definitive approach. I think it must be that the creative process brings out the dreamer or romantic in me.

    • artkleko says:

      Your technique is wonderful, Evelyn, whereas mine is more on the ‘boofy’ side. At least I can mix impatience with patience, something I have to do when working with colored pencils!

      • Richard… you certainly “made my day” with tyour positive comment re my technique. You are such a highly respected artist (deservedly so) and I still often tend to see myself as a Maths Science teacher and a bit of an art imposter (Anne Dunham has been a big supporter and would scold me for that statement). I am getting there though. As much surrounding art is subjective it is a tougher ride than the science path… but it is something where, once addicted, there is no escaping.
        Mixing patience with impatience is an interesting expression which I had never contemplated but I understand and like it.

      • artkleko says:

        I never see the Maths/Science side of you, Evelyn, in your work. To me what you do is much freer than I can hope for myself. Vive la difference!

Leave a Reply

