A RAINY DAY ABSTRACT


Recently we spent 6 nights at Bateman’s Bay and boy, did it rain! What do you do when it rains so much and you’re on holidays? I know there’s lots one can do and of course for me, one of them was some art.

This year to date, I haven’t done any practical art and thought that it was about time I took some pencils out and had a ‘play’.

I had visited many galleries while away from home and had taken thousands of photos, so there was enough inspiration to motivate myself.

What should I do?

I am becoming increasingly interested in taking my work to another level, that being more minimalist. It’s something I had been thinking about for sometime and I have already planned some work that I will tackle when I return shortly to Tasmania. Besides lacking in detail the artwork must be quite large to have any visual impact on the viewer. The more I see of simplistic work, the more I see the need to scale up my own.

I want to use coloured pencil for these large pieces, but it will be a big challenge not only for the pencils, but physically for me. CP art is very hard on my wrist and fingers because of my technique, but I am still keen to see if I can make the transition in scale successfully.

Today’s images are a step-by-step development of a simple abstract design using a limited palette and two, oval shapes that symbolise rocks.

It can be viewed as an abstract or a symbolic landscape.

Which one(s) do you like? I like the first and last examples. The first because of its sheer simplicity, and the last because of its composition.

In my next post I will talk about (and show) a series of images that give a hint on what I want to do when I get back to Tasmania.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

