OFF AND RACING!


Imagine that you’ve been waiting for 12 months to run a race and finally the day has come for you to face the starting line and wait for the starter’s gun. This is no ordinary race, and you are no ordinary athlete. You are an artist who has been gathering information for an exhibition to be held in 12 months’ time. It’s taken you 12 months of travelling to prepare yourself for this day, and there’s still 12 months to go! Is it enough time to prepare for such an event? Time will tell.

The preparation has been done now time to concentrate on the production side. There is no shortage of inspiration in fact it’s a case of information overload. Decisions need to be made and a course of direct action followed.

I’m talking of course about myself. I am in no doubt about the task ahead, and  have at last started the next 12 – month journey.

After some procrastination I decided that Darwin would be my first ‘port of call’. This painting of some of the wonderful rocks I saw there contains a good deal of abstraction. I have only put in 2 hours’ work so far, but I hope to complete it by next week.

This evening I have the great pleasure of officially opening June Wilson’s Studio Gallery at Latrobe. I will post some photos and text later next week.

Monday will see my 1,000th post. It’s been a wonderful experience since I began blogging in October 2008. I am staggered by the hits I’ve had, but I would like some more comments now and then. At this point in time I’m not sure what Monday’s post will be about.

I have some homework to do.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to OFF AND RACING!

  1. Edna says:

    I certainly have enjoyed your blogs Richard. I think that it takes courage to continually put your work out there for comment and to talk about where you are coming from artistically.

  2. mye1212 says:

    Congratulations on your 1000th post! That’s quite an achievement. I am so glad to have found your blog. This next year will be very interesting and I can’t wait to see what you come up with.

Leave a Reply

