A QUESTION OF BALANCE


Balance

Prismacolors on pastel board   60 cm x 40 cm

It’s been a productive time since my return from my 12 month holiday. I am currently working on my 5th painting and I have taken the time to put the finishing touches to a few paintings that were in my storage rack.

Today’s featured painting Balance, relates to a them of Sticks and Stones that I started pursuing a few years ago.

I love symbolism and symmetry, the latter not necessarily in its purest form, but for me it’s more about the illusion of balance.

A small cairn is surrounded by sticks; what does it mean?

What began as an experiment in my backyard ended in a painting that (for me) has religious symbolism. The three small stones represent the Trinity, while the 13 sticks represent the apostles (Judas died and was replaced). There are two types of ‘balances’.

1. The arrangement of objects has a balanced look and feel.

2. The death of Jesus through the betrayal of Judas (dark stick) played a part in the formation of the Trinity. The ‘sticks'(apostles) were Jesus’ representatives on earth after his ascension.

Symbolism is rather interesting don’t you think?

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A QUESTION OF BALANCE

  1. Julieanne Mani says:

    I love it, and I love the symbolism.

Leave a Reply

