10 Responses to IS IMAGINATION DEAD?

  1. I find this painting very interesting with lots of “emotional depth”. It makes me HAPPY!

  2. I really like your post. Interesting commentary. Lately there has been some question on the validity of “digital art” as art. And photography as well. I use both mediums, but have no technical skill as a photographer. I want my image to go beyond “photographic” and become something else; abstract, emotional, expressive. I use a photographic image as a starting point. I believe in what I create. It is art to me because it is an attempt to reveal and conceal a personal mystery … My life in uncertainity.

  3. Dianne Gruber says:

    I do understand your comments Richard but I guess that I am one of the people who enjoy realistic art. Many of the subjects that I photograph for art are not the norm. I love to paint rugged cowboys with sweaty hats and coffee mugs. I am still trying to find my way and my “style”. Who knows, maybe I will change my mind.

    • artkleko says:

      I too, like realistic art, Dianne, but it has to be “clever”. I’m talking about art that imitates a photograph, many of whom are traced, then painted. This is true copying and it’s craft, not art. Your cowboy subjects sound interesting and “imaginative”. They are different and personal and to me it sounds as if your art is real, but thought-provoking. Well done!
      PS. I will soon publish a post titled “Clever”.

  4. Hi Richard, I could talk to you for hours on the
    issues you raised. I SO AGREE with you (and love the painting here by the way). Interestingly I have just come home from Meander Valley Arts where I took a workshop on painting acrylics with a palette knife…. “difficult pleasure” to quote Brettt Whitely. (will put some on my blog). Although we worked from photos as our stimulus, the palette knife meant the works are alive and vital not carefully rendered to accurately replicate the photo. Accidental marks were often left… much like the “happy accidents” in watercolour. I do like realism as you know but tend to get bored with exact photo renditions after I have got over the initial wow isn’t that well done (we have some extremely talented craftspeope/artists).
    The sort of art we did today requires one to be brave, allow the work to suggest future directions and reliquish absolute control. That to me at present (and I may rethink later) is where the excitement of creativity lies.
    When someone comments on my work that it looks like a photo I feel somewhat disappointed as I prefer paintings to look painted…… blobs that through the general pose and proportion suggest figures etc.

    • artkleko says:

      Great response, Evelyn! I too, receive the “like a photo” comments and they ‘grate’ with me. My work isn’t photographic. I leave lines and marks here and there, sometimes even show parts of my pastel board. I too, love ‘accidents’. We should all celebrate these when they occur.

  5. Glenda says:

    I like this artwork of yours Richard – it is happy and pleasing and has depth. I appreciate your comment … ‘A real painting gives us a message, a story and an element of mystery’. This is what I try to get in my paintings and it is encouraging to hear other artists expressing the same notions or philosophy.

Leave a Reply

