GLOVER PRIZE 2013


Wholemeal Landscape, Northern Tasmania

Glover Prize finalist, 2009

I am going to win the Glover Prize.

I don’t know when, but my intention is one day to “take home” Australia’s richest landscape award.

This may appear to be a somewhat outrageous statement to make, but I am serious.  The task may seem an impossible one, but every year one artist achieves this aim. Why can’t it be me one day?

If artists don’t aim high, how can they expect to challenge themselves?

In order to realise this aim I have to:

  1. Create an idea that fits with the prize’s philosophy.
  2. Craft a fitting artist’s statement.
  3. Produce a painting in coloured pencil.
  4. Complete and submit an entry (on time).
  5. Have my entry accepted from a total of about 280.
  6. Compete with some of the nation’s top painters.
  7. Win the prize.
  8. Take the prize home.

Mission impossible? I hope not, although I must admit that it’s a daunting task.

I have the upmost respect for the Glover Prize and each year I look forward to the challenge of creating a painting that would gain the respect of the judges.

I have only been a finalist once, in 2009, but I’m hungry for more!

I have chosen 2 ideas for submission in next year’s prize, providing that they turn out to my satisfaction. I’m not saying what each painting is about, but one has a figurative element, while the other is a landscape.

My preliminaries are completed and soon I shall commence the first (and largest) of the two. Both paintings will take several months to complete.

Another year, another challenge.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to GLOVER PRIZE 2013

  1. Go Richard!!! I admire your attitude and confidence. I wil watch your progress with interest as I did last year. Again I am sure we will all learn a lot from your sharing. Good luck.

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks Evelyn and Dale. It’s a battle, but one that I enjoy (?), and one that I feel I need to “keep me going”. The whole art scene is rather flat, but it’s up to us to do something about it!

  2. dalesart216 says:

    Richard, I have a belief that if you want something badly enough you must believe that you already have it. Imagine yourself drawing/painting the piece, imagine entering it, imagine receiving the prize and FEEL the excitement of winning! Good luck!!!!!

  3. Edna says:

    Good luck Richard. If anyone deserves to win it is you for sheer hard work, talent and optimism. Edna

  4. Cathy Holtom says:

    It’s good to have something to aim for and if you want it badly enough you’ll get it!

  5. knieling2012 says:

    Goals are what has made us stretch as individuals and let us shine when reached. You seem to have the attitude that will prevail and I wish you all the best.

Leave a Reply

