ESOTERIC ART


 

WIP: Both abstracts were inspired by the patterns on 2 bricks that I discovered at Avoca Beach, near Gosford in NSW, Australia.

My abstract paintings are quite personal and for the majority of people they are hard to understand. Most people dismiss abstract art due to its appearance. If they can’t understand what they see, it’s rubbish. “My 5 year-old could do that”, I hear. Oh boy, how far from the truth is that statement!

 

I must admit that abstract art is art in a “different language”. If you don’t speak that language you will find it hard to understand and interpret any examples of abstraction.

All of us interpret what we see in terms of what we know or remember. A new way of seeing something can be quite confronting for some, but being challenged is one of the great aspects about art that I love. Complacency can be dangerous as it leads to repetition and the mundane. We need to be excited now and then!

I base all of my abstracts on the “known”. In most cases they are based on landscape patterns, weathering, natural mark making, rust or decay.

Pattern is very important to me, as is the emotional tie I have with my subjects. There’s a lot of personal feeling in this work.

Some may think there’s a strong aboriginal art influence in my work, but that’s not the case. Yes, I am fond of aboriginal art, particularly contemporary work, but if you look carefully at my work you will see small rocks instead of dots and other shapes that are more indicative of the Australian landscape.

I love the process of creating this type of art far more than I do with my other work. There is a lot of freedom with this work and it seems to bring out my ‘patient’ side.

Both of today’s featured paintings (when finished) will be part of my exhibition in Launceston, Tasmania, next March.

What do you “see”? If you like the pattern, the colours or the arrangement of shapes, that’s fine. It doesn’t have to be “deep”, to be appreciated.

When I have completed both abstracts I will post an artist’s statement.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ESOTERIC ART

  1. artshed70 says:

    Love this post. I love abstract work – people don’t realise how much imagination it takes to create. And there is a quest for pictures to ‘look like something’ – why? – I already know what things look like. Your work seems very detailed yet you seem to create quite quickly – is this the case?

    • artkleko says:

      I work reasonably quickly, and can finish a piece this size (80 x 38cm) inside a week. It’s detailed, but I seem to have patience for this type of art. Now to find some buyers lol! Thanks for commenting.

  2. I do like these pieces Richard. As with most abstracts there in no need to put them in a box with a definition. Better to just enjoy the language.

    • artkleko says:

      There’s certainly something to be said for “open-ended art”, Walter. Sometimes such freedom is a breath of fresh air an an ever-tightening art world.

Leave a Reply

