NATURAL ABSTRACTION


Over the past 2 weeks I have been concentrating on some abstract paintings, so I thought that it would be appropriate to share today’s photo.

On a trip to Lake St. Clair in Tasmania’s Central Highlands a few years ago, I came across a piece of bark laying in a ditch. A strong light cast a most interesting shadow on the bark’s surface, resulting in a pattern that gives the overall composition a distinct abstract feel.

 

I suppose one would label this work as a ‘semi-abstract’. There’s enough information to give one a good idea of what is ‘going on’.

Whatever way it is interpreted, this painting is a celebration of pattern in nature; a landscape through the eyes of an abstract lover.

 

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NATURAL ABSTRACTION

  1. Gerry says:

    Very nice Richard – I particularly like the shadow pattern on the piece of bark. My word you do some interesting paintings this one almost has a batik feel to it ( design wise I mean) Lovely!!

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks Gerry. I still haven’t found where my ‘loyalties’ are with my art, but the journey is enjoyable! I seem to a ‘pattern theme’ going through most of my work, hence my love of interesting shadows, especially in landscapes.

  2. This is absolutely beautiful Richard! I love the patterns of light and colour – abstract is really your ‘forte’ ! Great work and so interesting and different!

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks Eileen, I do appreciate your comments! I must admit that I find abstract art is becoming more important to me as I get older. It will be interesting to see how gallery patrons react when I display this work.

Leave a Reply

