TIME TO CHANGE


After 43 years of art practice, it’s time to make a change (or two).

My trip to Central Australia reaffirmed what I had been thinking for sometime – my style of art needed to change. I was getting complacent, even bored with some of the work I was doing. There was too much emphasis on process and not product. I need to be brave and I need to do it now!

I have decided to take two new pathways.

The first is spontaneous, plein air-focused and is based on my love of quick drawing. I have posted an example today that I am currently working on. This is a hillside in Southern Tasmania, part of my ‘Midlands series’. The first stage has been drawn in pen and I am currently adding colour using my IMac. I love working on my computer and believe that it holds something exciting for me to pursue. Time will tell.

This work is about line, not colour.

Lines are the ‘bones’ of a drawing and I want to use them to express my understanding of the structure of my subject. I also want to ‘dig deeper’ into each subject and reveal more than ‘face value’.

My second approach will see me interpret the Australian landscape in a more abstract way.

I have relied on visual interpretations for far too long. Now it’s time to express what I ‘feel’ about my subject. I want to show an emotional response to what I’m painting. Where appropriate I want to expose the history, maybe even my link with each subject.

At this stage I am sticking with coloured pencils, but I am open to other mediums.

 

I have commenced a large (80 x 120cm) painting of the Southern Midlands and I will post an update soon.

New journeys have begun…

 

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to TIME TO CHANGE

  1. Gerry says:

    Wow great to read that Richard – funny how our “art heart” evolves and speaks to us isn’t it. I think its that we love what we do and when we get a good grip on a particular way of working then boom we suddenly need to go further or change things to get the excitement of what happens with paint, pencil etc to another level or even in a different direction!! I get bored with the same old same old (not saying your work is boring lol) but good luck on the journey its the best part.

  2. dalesart216 says:

    Go for it Richard, and good luck!!!!!

  3. Go Richard!!! Sounds exciting. Loving the new look…. but the loved the old look. Your “journey” gets me thinking of one of my favorite quotes when I teach Sumi E ….. the journey is paramount. Enjoy and keep us updated.

  4. Hey Richard. I know how you feel. I keep telling myself it is time to start painting again. Work more with my hands. Sometimes it does seem like my 2-dimensional digital work needs a little rest. I try to supplement it with the video work. Change is good. A little frightening at times. Sometimes it is the lack of time to invest in a new craft or skill. But nothing should ever stop of from exploring.

  5. artshed70 says:

    I like the sound andl look of the new direction. Enjoy the adventure!

  6. Gillian says:

    What exciting times, Richard. As someone who recently completely changed media and style, with the most positive effects, I can heartily recommend your plan of action. I think your years of experience will guide you forward and I hope you enjoy new paths. x

  7. Lois says:

    I’m a writer not an artist so it is really interesting to read how you work… I’m intrigued by the idea of the lines being the bones of a drawing… I like that idea a lot! Good luck with your new venture!

Leave a Reply

