BUSHFIRE


On Monday I bought some canvases and oil paints in readiness for my ‘return’ to oil painting.

This is a momentous decision considering my ‘loyalty’ to coloured pencils (22 years). But it’s time for a change and a change it will be!

I don’t intend to stop working with coloured pencils, but I want to explore other ways of expressing my art.

One of them is displayed today on this post, a freehand pen drawing that has ‘coloured’ via my computer. This will be available as a print, but is also the inspiration for my first major painting for many years.

It’s about a bushfire, not just any bushfire, but more importantly the fires that devastated my home state of Tasmania in February, 1967. I know, as I was there.

A substantial artist’s statement will follow in due course.

I am attempting to ‘marry’ my drawing style with oils and I’ll be painting from today’s digital drawing.

This should be interesting.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to BUSHFIRE

  1. Lois says:

    Very interesting… I look forward to seeing more.

  2. Kate says:

    I think it is quite exciting that you are making this awesome change in your style and medium. I made a similar decision a few years ago. Well, it was really more of an evolution for me. But painting more spontaneously has opened up my soul and has saved my life! You are embarking on an exciting adventure by returning to your oils! Bon Voyage Richard!!!!!!

    • artkleko says:

      Thank you Kate. It’s been interesting this week working through a number of approaches and I have made a few decisions that I will detail on my blog tomorrow.

  3. Gillian says:

    What fascinating beginnings, Richard. I’m intrigued to see how you will translate this digi-piece to canvas. Of course, the downside to switching from pencil work is all the brush-cleaning!

    • artkleko says:

      Yes Gillian, I have returned to brush cleaning, but I still sharpen my pencils! As you will see on my next blog post, I’ve had a change of mind in regards to my bushfire painting.

Leave a Reply

