HOT PENCILS


 

Living so far south of the Equator means that Winters here are a little on the harsh side. Frosty mornings usually result in sunny days, but my studio often needs the services of a good heater, and I have one.

 

Cold mornings are no good for Prismacolor pencils, as they often ‘scrape’ on my pastel board and flake easily. The answer?

 

 

I now place a metal pencil tin lid on the top of my oil-filled heater for about 30 minutes, then my pencils are soft (and warm) ready to be applied. This works and I advise anyone else in my situation to do the same.

How I still remember my time in Cairns and Innisfail in Far North Queensland, where my coloured pencils ‘flowed’ onto the pastel board. Sigh!

 

Richard

 

 

 

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

