SOUTHERN MIDLANDS


Earlier in the week I completed a series of 5 pastel paintings featuring aspects of Tasmania’s Southern Midlands. This was my first serious foray in pastels for a very long time, but after 10 days’ work I had reached my goal. I wouldn’t call them brilliant by any means, but I enjoyed the experience and used my time to see what I knew and after an evaluation, what I needed to work on.

I am however, pleased with what I’ve achieved and  now I have embarked on a direction that is different, but one that I hope will produce something of note. (I’m currently working on a series of semi-abstracts, beginning with subjects from my recent time in Central Australia. I aim to post an update next week.)

The Southern Midlands area of Tasmania is more often dry than not. It can be a very dusty area, with little pasture growth being the norm except where there is irrigation.

I have lost count of how many times I have travelled the Midlands Highway from Launceston (North) to Hobart (South) and return. Every journey is always interesting as there’s plenty to see and many ideas have been born and later realised back in my studio.

I have developed a good collection of photos that have already yielded today’s featured paintings and I have several more waiting to be painted.

Tasmania is a haven for artists, there’s so much to see and inspire one’s imagination.

Why not pay us a visit?

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SOUTHERN MIDLANDS

  1. These are magnificent. I love the feeling of space here. The landscape and sky in each piece is so uniquely done. The sandy earth and blue sky is a perfect color match. This series is one of my favorites from you. I hope you don’t mind me re-blogging the post.

  2. Reblogged this on n e w d i g i t a l s c a p e s and commented:
    These are some magnificent pastels works of art by Richard at Artklek’s blog entitled Southern Midlands.

  3. Jamie Dedes says:

    This one reminds me of where I live: Northern California. Golden hills almost totally devoid of green during the summer. Nice work!

  4. abigull says:

    Top two are my favorite. They feel so alive. Love to see landscapes infused with motion – you’ve caught the soul of the land.

Leave a Reply

