ART SUCCESS(ES)


Last Friday evening I won the Landscape Prize at the annual Tasmanian Art Awards in Burnie. I’m still on a ‘high’ after winning the major prize in 2010, and this win was unexpected, but I am thrilled to win an award with a coloured pencil painting in open company.

My winning painting (top photo), “Natural Stained Glass” (80 x 60 cm, Prismacolors on pastel board) featured bird poo on an old, dirty, stained window at the historic property of Cheshunt in Northern Tasmania. I love the ‘weathered look’ this window has and its abstract qualities. This is my 4th prize from this location.

My second entry “Hobart Footpath, Landscape DNA”, (120 x 80 cm, Polychromos pencils on pastel board) features a section of a footpath at the Hobart wharves that I thought contained distinct landscape and abstract qualities.  The red line painted on this section of pathway gave a visual ‘lift’ to the composition. This painting gained a judges’ commendation and sold, making this a highly successful exhibition for yours truly.

I honestly did not expect any great accolades from my entries this year. Both paintings were ‘risky’ and a little ‘different’. But I do believe that if you want to be noticed you have to dare to be different. In the end I’m glad I was!

Wednesday: Midlands 8.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ART SUCCESS(ES)

  1. Edna says:

    Congratulations Richard, you deserve the success.

  2. Gillian says:

    Wow, Richard – that’s wonderful – congratulations to you. Very well deserved. x

Leave a Reply

