VIVA LA DIFFERENCE!


Northern Tasmanian Landscape DNA 2.

Prismacolors on pastel board   80 x 40 cm

There’s a lot more to art than meets the eye of an art patron, or anyone who visits a gallery, for that matter. Artists aren’t small creative factories hell-bent on ‘churning’ out painting after painting to satisfy an ever hungry and appreciative art market.  Art is easy to create, there’s not much thought or planning, it just ‘happens’.That’s enough fantasy, now for some reality.

Artists need to explore ideas, techniques and mediums in order to find what works best for them. One is never too experienced to try new ways or different materials. Artwork often requires a great deal of planning and research.

The subjects that artists paint should  ‘relate’ to the medium/s they work in. Getting the balance between subject and medium will result in a product that realises its potential.

But there’s another issue that is vital in the creative process. The ‘idea’ behind each painting can mean the difference between success and failure. It’s no good how skilled an artist is with their technique and medium, it’s the ‘cleverness’ of each painting that makes the real difference.

There is so much art about today, in galleries, cafes, and online, plus a host of other locations, that being ‘different’ is mandatory if one is to be seen in the ‘crowd’.

There are ‘supermarket painters’ who happily paint for the market – what people like. I can’t do that, nor do I want to. I want to be different and adaptable.

As I have got older, my work has become less detailed. My subjects are simple, but the real character of each subject  matters more to me now than ever before.

I’m still ‘clinging’ to coloured pencils, but I have added soft pastels to my menu. Both mediums suit my current subjects/themes that are ‘Landscape DNA’ and ‘Landscape Cleansing’.

Today’s featured painting is the second in my ‘Landscape DNA’ theme. No paintings in this series will be the same, despite their humble origins.

I am looking at the link between clay bricks and the landscape, especially the ‘landscape memory’ or DNA that each bricks carries. I believe that each clay brick carries with it some evidence of its original surroundings. I see a ‘landscape’ in each of the bricks that I got from the Austral Brick Company at Longford, in Northern Tasmania. The clay for these bricks came from Scottsdale (East) and Deloraine (West). Some of these bricks contain wonderful abstract images, or so they appear at first. Spend more time with these bricks and landscapes begin to ‘appear’. It’s akin to looking at a window of reality, through an unlikely subject. This (to me) is fascinating stuff.

I hope I get some gallery interest in this ‘different’ work.

Wednesday: Some exciting news.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to VIVA LA DIFFERENCE!

  1. Richard. You have expressed some very significant thoughts here. I can relate to the “clinging” to your medium. I was once asked why don’t you work in a different medium apart from digital. I thought about my answer. I explained that the medium connects me to the world I want to express. It enables me to always find a new discovery. It seems limitless. Time is valuable. I could use some of it to learn a new art form or skill or craft. But is that the best use of my time. It has bee 27 years of digital art or video. It is my expression. I now understand why some artists alway work in the same medium. They have found their marriage as well.

    • artkleko says:

      Nicely put Walter. If one’s work remains fresh, then there’s no need to change the medium. Your work is so varied to the extent that the medium is secondary. What your art is saying is its true value and it’s what your followers appreciate.

  2. Liz Russell-Arnot says:

    thanks for replying so quickly to my query Richard. I must clarify the fact that I wasn’t asking for details of your personal contract. i do hope that wasn’t how you interpreted my question. I was only interested in generalities, whether they are tailored or generic. stuff like that. I will ask Ness if I need any more information.

    • artkleko says:

      Hi Liz,
      I didn’t think that you were asking about my contract.
      Brave’s contract is generic. I imagine though that one could tailor it to some degree.

Leave a Reply

