THE OPERATING TABLE


I have 3 easels and a large drawing table in my studio and I often have at least 3 paintings, or more, ‘on the go’. I need variety as working with coloured pencils is extremely demanding both mentally and physically. At present I have 4 coloured pencil paintings and a pastel painting as my companions. The latter has been added as a ‘break’ from the constant demands of coloured pencils.

Currently on my drawing table is a rather large (118 x 44 cm) piece of pastel board that will be my entry in next year’s Glover Prize, Australia’s richest award for landscape painting. This work is so complicated that I am working on it in small sections, 12 in total. Not to be confused, I have covered all but 3 of the sections, and have done the same to my reference photo. This is much like keyhole surgery, but on a bigger scale.

There is so much intricate detail in this painting that I want (and need) to show and working this way in the past has given me the result I wanted.

Covering up the majority of one’s painting is also good in that it doesn’t freak you out when you only see a small section at a time and not the entire area all at once!

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

