ACRYLIC PAINTING


Hawley View

Acrylic on watercolour paper

I’m about ready to make a return to acrylics. I want a fairly ‘flat’ finish, so I opted to use what  I had left of a collection of Solver Scenic Flat Acrylic. These paints are (were) favoured by signwriters. The colours are loud and have a high UV tolerance, and I thought they would be ideal for my style of painting. To my dismay I have found out that these paints aren’t made anymore. Darn! What now?

Time to re-group.

For my first painting I will work with Matisse paints. I have used them before and what I particularly like about them is their strong range of Australian colours. They are available in ‘Structure’ and ‘Flow’, the latter having gouache-like qualities, the former having traditional acrylic gloss-like qualities.

Time to experiment.

Richard

 

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ACRYLIC PAINTING

  1. I like how you are really abstracting your subjects. It’s fun to watch your progress and also the change in mediums. I have been having neck and shoulder pains from drawing so much with colored pencil. I suppose it’s a labor of love!

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks Kendra, for your comments. Sorry to hear that you have ‘pencil trouble’ too. I think it’s a matter of pacing one’s self and varying the art mediums we work with. I think in my case it’s the fact that I’m not as young as I used to be!

Leave a Reply

