BLOG REVIEW


STUDIOYesterday afternoon in my studio, where I write my  blog posts and push pencils over pastel board, sometimes frantically, other times with care and attention. This is my escape from the rest of the world. As we say in Australia, it’s my Men’s Shed, or in my case, my Man Room.

Christmas is fast approaching. Time to review the year and plan for 2013. It’s good to look back and take stock as it puts one’s artistic endeavours into  perspective. It’s also good to have plans for future creative exploits.

Coming from a teacher’s background timetables and planning are second nature. I need to have order in my life, hence notes, calendars etc. I like to be organised and I always aim to meet deadlines. I’ve had a fairly prolific year, but more about that next week.

Today I want to reflect on this blog.

Now in its 5th year and having passed 1,000,000 hits, I wonder what else there is to aim for in my thrice-weekly posts. so many blogs that I once subscribed to are either gone or are so infrequent that I often forget that they exist.

It was once said that most blogs “fall down” after less than 3 months, and this is true. When I started this blog, my aims were to treat it as my personal visual diary, share some of my teaching experiences and the work of other artists and someday reach one million hits. I’ve done all of that and wonder if it’s worth putting in the effort that it takes to make regular posts.

Considering that I have written over 1,150 posts, my ‘comment’ and ‘like’ rates are low, no doubt due to the (lack of) size of my audience reach. Living in Tasmania, Australia is a disadvantage as far as an ‘active audience’ is concerned in regards to promoting one’s art. I am not convinced that the Internet is the ‘saviour’ many profess it to be. Selling art on the Internet is a gamble and always will be.

I see an increasing trend with artists using Facebook to post examples of their work and join in various discussions. The art groups on Facebook provide an excellent platform for artists and I encourage every artist to join at least one or two.

Maybe I should ‘retire’ and concentrate purely on the local art scene.

Time to do some serious thinking.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to BLOG REVIEW

  1. Hi Richard,

    I agree that the end of one year and the start of the next is an opportune time to reflect and plan.

    I have been reading/following your blog for most of this year, the first one I read was when you first got back to your studio after coming home from FNQ.

    I would just like to say how much I have enjoyed your blog and have found not only interesting but informative about your artistic process.

    I am only coming back to art after many years doing other things and am trying to build a body of work and the nerve to see if I can exhibit it. Following your blog and reading your past blogs have inspired me and given me much valuable information. So although I may have often been a passive reader I look forward to each post.

    I also love your new abstract works. So Merry Christmas and best of luck with next year and I hope to keep following you no matter what format you choose to communicate in.

    Regards

    Karen

    • artkleko says:

      Thank you Karen, it’s nice to know that you have been reading my blog and that you find it of value. I am watching you, too and look forward to the day when you hold your first exhibition. Maybe you could have me open it?
      Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you, and I wish you every success in your artistic endeavours.
      Regards,
      Richard

  2. dalesart216 says:

    Good morning Richard,
    With 2013 fast approaching I am excited about what it has in store for me. We are moving next month to a smaller house and yard, hard to downsize, but the good news is I will have my own ‘room’ to chill out and draw/paint etc. We want to travel a lot, and hopefully I will get some inspiration from all the photos I will be taking. My China trip gave me a lot to look at and once we move I will get more into them.
    It has been great watching your work appear on your blog, you have a very unique style which is very recognisable and whenever I see it I know it is yours.
    I hope that 2013 is very good to you and look forward to ‘seeing’ you on and around Facebook.
    Have a very Merry Christmas and a wonderful New Year.
    Dale

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks Dale, and I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and a happy New Year in your new home. Thanks for your support throughout the year and I hope your new ‘space’ realises many successful artistic endeavours!
      Warmest regards,
      Richard

  3. Richard I was inspired to start my WordPress blog by yours. Sometimes I wonder whether to blame or thank you for that but I have “met” some wonderful fellow bloggers from across the globe. No where near the views you have but it has been good. All your thoughts here I also hold… a lot of effort and sometimes I do wonder. I enjoy making art but do sometimes think once it is made I should just shove it under the bed as all the rest takes so much effort/time. But then I am always analysing and reviewing from a different perspective … guess that is what life is about. FB at present seems good but with that, Pintrest, Linked in………. I am feeling a bit saturated by images/ art/ craft/ “ratings”. Nothing like holding the real thing in your hand and meeting artists and interested people in person. Tomorrow Dev Foreshore Market, Sunday Makers Workshop in Burnie… surrounded by real likers. Well done on achieving all your goals (and more).

    • artkleko says:

      Evelyn, your enthusiasm for your art and your desire to share your skills have made you a valuable and admired resource for Tasmanian artists. Thanks for your support. Keep up the good work.
      Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!
      Warmest regards,
      Richard

  4. Denise says:

    Been following your blog for a few months. Thank-you for your courage to post, make art and put it to the world.. I still am trying to figure out how to get my beginner works out there. Poor computer skills and bigger lack of artistic confidence are the problem. Ism a long way off but happy cheering you on. I enjoy your progress and huge courage. From Canada.

    • artkleko says:

      Thank you for your support Denise. “Keep on keeping on”, and you will realise your ambitions. Patience and tenacity will get you there in the end!
      Greetings from Australia and I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year.
      Warmest regards, Richard

  5. I have been reading your blog for a number of years now Richard and I would like to share with you my very first thoughts when I read my first post. Being an admirer of your work I started reading expecting to find displays of new work and get information about where you would be exhibiting. I was struck by something totally different though. I was reading some very helpful fatherly advice about taking painting to the next level and how to be on the marketing end of your own artwork. Also there were a lot of teaching articles on technique and mediums. My first thoughts were “what a kind and generous man to share such knowledge and what a thoughtful man to understand how those less experienced would need such guidance”. Here is where your teaching experiences come to the fore too. Of course there is often new works and that is always exciting too, but if you could step back and see your blog as I do you might be quite invigorated. Five years is a long time and every blogger hits a “wall” at some time but I would like to think you have more to give yet.

    • artkleko says:

      Thank you Tanya for your kind words and continued support. It’s great knowing that people like yourself gleam something from my blog and makes the task of blogging a pleasure rather than a chore.
      As a blogger yourself (and may I say how much I enjoy your writing and photography) you would know how much effort is required in maintaining a level of consistency and interest over a long period.
      I suspect that I will continue to blog, but my contributions to the Internet will probably be on a weekly basis next year.
      Warmest regards, Richard

Leave a Reply

