ABSTRACT LANDSCAPE


NORTHERN MIDLANDS LANDSCAPENorthern Midlands Landscape

80 x 40 cm   Prismacolor pencils on pastel board

 

Is it an abstract or is it a landscape? Can it be both.

My ‘Brick’ series is really starting to head in exciting directions. Over the past few months I have been ‘beavering’ away at a series of coloured pencil paintings that will be framed in the new year. The bricks (below) that I’m working with (from Longford) have been a vital resource, but the time is coming when I will rely less on them and  tap into my own imagination.

 

 

Brick NurseryWhat is pleasing me is that at last I’m producing work that is personal, distinctive and enjoyable to create. I see a lot of potential, but I’m mindful of the need to keep my work ‘fresh’ and not fall into the trap of ‘rubber stamping’. I hope to pay the Austral brick Company another visit later in the week and add to my ‘brick nursery’. I am also considering introducing mixed media that will provide me with more challenges and more opportunities.

Richard

 

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ABSTRACT LANDSCAPE

  1. gerryart says:

    Its great to see the progression Richard – the photo above would make a great panoramic painting!!!

    • artkleko says:

      Cheers Gerry. I am keen to paint one in oils, but it doesn’t seem to be the right time. Once I get my Glover details finished and a couple of other paintings done, I might make a start.

Leave a Reply

