FIRST PAINTING FOR 2013


 

RHYTHM IN THE CLAYRhythm in the Clay

 

80 x 50 cm   Prismacolors on pastel board

 

I’ve hit the ground running at the start of the new year and I’ve finished my first painting, one in my series that ‘s been inspired by the patterns in locally made clay bricks. This subject may seem to be rather boring and mundane, but I can assure you that there’s more to bricks than meets the eye, well the bricks I have, anyway.
The patterns of the bricks in my collection are indeed rather special and have given me much joy over the past 2 months.
I had intended to start a completely new series of paintings after a recent trip to the town of Oatlands in southern Tasmania, but that will have to wait as I need to tackle a few more paintings before I give my current subject a well-earned rest.

 

Today’s painting is rather intense in its pattern. The colours are a result of the clay brick being fired. That being so, imagine the colours that are to be found (dormant) below the ground.

 

The Australian landscape continues to offer me so much material not only for realism, but for abstract painting.

Richard

 

 

 

 

 

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to FIRST PAINTING FOR 2013

  1. A great start to 2013 indeed Richard. Looking forward to seeing all your work. 🙂

  2. Could not help myself yesterday Richard, at Longford had to take some close ups of fantastic old bricks. thought of you.. Also went to Brave Art Gallery but could only look in to your artwork on the back wall as it was closed.

Leave a Reply

