ANOTHER BRICK FROM THE WALL


AB DNAAustral Brick Landscape DNA

Prismacolors on pastel board   80 x 40 cm

I am involved in 3 exhibitions this month. The first  (Art of Norfolk Plains)is currently running and it’s the exhibition where I won the major prize. The second opens at the Brave Art Gallery tomorrow evening (my entry is the featured photo) and the third is my own exhibition which opens on Sunday afternoon.

The idea for today’s featured painting actually came from a wall of bricks at the entrance to the Austral Brick Company at Longford.  This is one of 9 paintings that I have produced using Austral Bricks as my inspiration. I also have 14 other ‘Brick’ paintings from other locations. There are 6 in my one-man show and 8 waiting to be framed and there are another 12 planned.

This theme has given me a tremendous amount of motivation and inspiration.

I am acutely aware of the danger of similarity and repetition. Once that occurs I shall stop the series and move onto something different. I have put a lot of time and effort into researching and documenting this current theme, but it’s starting to show some dividends.

Today’s featured painting is my interpretation of a striking brick pattern that looks more like a landscape than an abstract design. What are your thoughts?

Next week I will be reporting on my one-man show at the Mill & Providore Gallery in Launceston, Tasmania, Australia.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

