A WASTE OF TIME AND ENERGY?


 

ROCKING ONIt’s been a difficult week since the opening of my exhibition in Launceston. Sales to this point in time have been very disappointing. Comments from all who have seen my work have been extremely positive and I believe that the work on display is well executed and beautifully presented. Where are the buyers?

 

I can identify to a certain extent with artists who depend on their art for a living. What happens when sales are poor? How do they handle this type of situation? How do they deal with it?

 

I’m fortunate in that I don’t depend on my art for an income. Sales and prizes keep me going to the extent that my art pays for itself. That doesn’t stop me from being depressed when I go to such an extraordinary extent as has been the case in preparing for this exhibition, only to find that hardly anyone is interested in buying my work. How do you deal with that?

 

Once I had ‘let go’ of the anger and disappointment I felt (about 2 days), I got straight back into more artwork. By Thursday I had completed 2 abstracts that I consider ‘keepers’. Today’ I have embarked on totally new work for a fresh approach.

 

I have always been interested in ‘light’, especially those images that are to a certain extent imaginative and abstract. Before I commence new work however, I intend to complete 2 paintings of ‘light’ that have been in one of my folders for several years.

 

Art is great therapy. It keeps you ‘busy’ and entertained. Its process is wonderful for healing especially in times of depression.

 

Was holding this exhibition a waste of time and energy? No, because of the following reasons.

 

1. It was a celebration and account of a wonderful 12 month holiday.

 

2. I derived a great deal of personal satisfaction from the process of creating all 30 paintings.

 

3. I made a self-imposed deadline.

 

4. I am pleased with the standard of my work.

 

5. The exhibition realised a new theme, ‘Bricks’, that has already realised success.

 

6. I have ‘grown’ due to the whole experience.

 

Would I do it again? My next one-man show will be at the Brave Art Gallery, Longford, in March next year.

 

Time to get back to painting!

Richard

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A WASTE OF TIME AND ENERGY?

  1. bellind says:

    I can understand your initial thoughts Richard, congratulations for pushing through them to seeing the positives its a very hard thing to do. Congratulations on what looks like a fabulous exhibition! πŸ™‚

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks Belinda. I think it’s important that we look for positives in everything we do, especially those that don’t go our way. You can only ‘move on’, when YOU decide to, and that first step is the first sign of a positive reaction.

  2. bellind says:

    Meant to say also, i think its important when going into an exhibiton just like a business to determine your critical success factors, i have been thinking about this in terms of my up and coming exhibition in a group show. Will i feel like a failure if i don’t sell.
    I think i have defined for myself that my success for the exhibition is not on whether i sell anything (which would be fantastic) but is more about bringing together a collection of works to a deadline, getting in amongst a group of fabulous artists etc. Much like you have done! πŸ™‚

    • artkleko says:

      I’ve been in lots of group shows, and they are an economical way of getting your art ‘out there’. I certainly agree on your comment about ‘success’.
      I wish you every success Belinda!

  3. Hi Richard!
    I can feel your disappointment in how the exhibition went and know only too well what its like to put your heart and soul into work and pay for frames, organising the exhibition etc., and it can be so disheartening when the feedback is so great from people and yet they don’t buy the work! 😦 The work looks fabulous by the way and the gallery space is great too.
    But you have a great positive outlook from it all with the way you summed it up at the end and as I always say – just put it down to experience and as the song goes – ‘pick yourself down, dust yourself down and start all over again’! πŸ™‚
    Roll on to the next exhibition!

  4. Oh Richard I understand how you feel! Putting yourself out there is a very brave thing to do, and frustrating and disheartening when the work doesn’t sell, especially when the feedback is good. What I didn’t mention in my last reply to you was that in the next exhibition after the one where someone bought several at the last minute, I only sold one, but had fantastic feedback. I was trying to be encouraging, and you still may have that wonderful person who comes in at the last minute! You do have to judge yourself on your personal satisfaction with the work in the end. (But the expense of setting up the exhibition and finding somewhere to store the unsold work is a practical frustration.) Good to hear you are already preparing for the next one!

Leave a Reply

