BIG ART


LARGE ARTWORKHow big are your paintings? Do you enjoy creating big artworks?

Most coloured pencil artists prefer smaller artworks and there’d be a number of reasons.

1. Working with coloured pencils can be physically demanding and very  time – consuming.

2. Working on large areas takes an extreme amount of patience.

3. The cost of framing large paintings is a real issue for many artists.

4. Who wants to buy large paintings?

5. Are coloured pencils suited to large-scale art?

This can also apply to all other 2D art mediums. People feel a lot more confident and ‘safer’ when working to a small – scale. I notice that on the Internet there’s a lot of work produced that is around 30 x 20 cms. This size can be produced in a relatively short space of time, varying from several days to several weeks. Those that venture outside that size frame certainly are aware of how much time is involved in completing a painting. But dose size really matter? I think it does.

Before I commence any painting I decide on how big it will be. This will determine what kind of reaction and ‘presence’ I hope to gain from  those who will see the painting in question. I am after a reaction, and scale can be an important factor in the painting’s success of failure.

I love Jackson Pollock’s ‘Blue Poles’ in the Australian National Gallery. If it were smaller, it would cease to be the painting that it is. It has to be big in order to gain the response it ‘needs’.

Small paintings ‘draw’ you into their frames to closely examine what is occurring. Big paintings (should) stand and ‘shout’ at you.

I am not afraid to send my coloured pencils across a full sheet (120 80 cm) of pastel board as indicated in today’s photo of a painting that I am currently working on for an art prize. In this case time is not an issue. I want my image (story) to be ‘in the face’ of each onlooker. I want this painting to ‘shout’. I have the patience to get the job done, but I work in bursts of a day here, half a day there, complimenting this painting with another slightly smaller one, that is another from my ‘Brick’ series.

Just because one works in coloured pencil doesn’t mean that one can’t think and paint big.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to BIG ART

  1. Oh Richard, this is something that I have been thinking hard on at the moment. I am trying to get my work together to approach galleries and size has been a major concern of mine. I personally love large works and most of my paintings are done on A1 size and I am considering going larger. I want my paintings to stand out and work in contemporary settings where larger works seem to be the norm. But how do you frame it with both weight and cost as an issue? Will people buy large and more expensive works on paper? So interested to hear others response to this. You always are so thought provoking, thank you. Karen

    • artkleko says:

      Hi Karen, the size you are working at is fine, don’t worry. Not all galleries prefer large artworks. It’s all about quality of idea, technique and presentation.
      I work on Canson pastel board, and framing is not a problem here for me in Launceston. Full sheet works (120 x 80 cm) cost me around $280 to frame and that includes double matting. They are a bit on the heavy side, but I don’t find them too much of a problem.
      One should only work ‘big’ if the idea needs to be seen ‘big’.
      Regards, Richard

  2. Dale says:

    I do colour pencil small(A3) but I love acrylic painting on large canvas…

Leave a Reply

