SIMPLIFYING


Midlands LandscapeMidlands Landscape

40 x 17 cm

Prismacolor pencils on Canson pastel board

I’ve been involved with art for over 4 decades and the longer I paint, the more I want to simplify my compositions. The ‘less means more’ principle has been of particular interest to me over the past 6 months.

It is said that a painting is more about what you leave out rather than include. When painting compositions with little information it’s a case of ‘what do I leave in’? This is not an easy task as it requires careful thinking and planning.

I’m a bit ‘over’ realism. I’ve painted that way for a long time and it’s been my love for abstraction that has driven me to explore art that contains more imagination and requires greater engagement by the viewer.

Today’s painting is the culmination of 6 months’ work where I sought to simplify my landscapes to the ‘edge of reality’, semi-abstraction with a hint of realism.  This began with my ‘brick’ series and has grown into what you see today. I’m not sure where this simplification is headed, but I feel challenged by this direction and intend exploring it fully until I get bored or come to a stage where the work becomes ‘stale’.

During this time I have been working on a second, different approach that actually ‘parallels’ this work. It is too is semi-abstract, but not as much, as features some recognisable landscape features.

I will feature this work on my next blog post.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SIMPLIFYING

  1. Kate Bausch says:

    Hi Richard,

    When I saw the title of your post I just had to send a picture of one of my sequin paintings. It’s kind of a tongue-in-cheek commentary on the simplifying trend/fad, of course.

    But on a serious note, I too want to simplify my work. But as I paint, I always seem to have more to say. It’s complicated…… you know?

    Warmly, Kate

    Date: Tue, 16 Apr 2013 00:01:58 +0000 To: katebausch@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

