GLADSTONE WORKSHOP


GLAD 01Last Friday I flew to Gladstone in sunny Queensland for a 2-day coloured pencil workshop. I enjoy spreading the ‘gospel’ of cp, and this was an opportunity that I was really looking forward to.

Gladstone is a mining town and like so many towns in Australia, it has a thriving arts community. My group of 15 students were a delight to teach. For 2 days we explored, experimented, overcame problems and achieved great results. By late Sunday afternoon they had produced an impressive folio of work that was displayed and I gave a talk and answered questions to the group and a number of invited guests. The local art shop provided most of the art materials. They even donated a box of 150 Prismacolors! I brought with me tins of Polychromos, Coloursoft and Inktense pencils to ‘add’ to the mix. So keen were 8 members of the group that they started half an hour early on Sunday morning!

GLAD 02 GLAD 03

 

What really pleased me about this workshop was the enthusiasm of all who participated. It is vital that such a workshop is undertaken with an open mind and a willingness to try new ideas and materials. Problems often occur, but these can be overcome and be a valuable learning experience in themselves. Coloured pencil is a wonderful, but sadly underrated medium in Australia. I treasure any opportunity to show people what these pencils can do. I must make mention of how friendly, welcoming and hospitable people were during my time in Gladstone. I’d certainly love a return visit.

Richard

Below is a sample of some of the work created.

GLAD 05

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to GLADSTONE WORKSHOP

  1. J. Stachow says:

    Hi, Come join my facebook group “Justgottapaint in Colored Pencils”, would love to have you! Barb Stachow (Alberta, Canada) Date: Wed, 19 Jun 2013 03:56:20 +0000 To: j_stachow@hotmail.com

  2. There are some wonderful looking images there. It amazes me what people can create. Sounds like a wonderful trip.

Leave a Reply

