RESEARCH & PREPARATION


 

 

PLAN 1My drawing table is ready for a new series of paintings…

I’m aiming to further develop images from Central Australia in a surreal way. I have completed several paintings to date, but I’m curious to see if I can further develop this theme.

 

Most of my art is the result of extensive research and preparation. Rarely can I enter my studio, dream up something and have it completed by the end of the afternoon. I have done this, but only on a handful of occasions. There are times when I wish I were more spontaneous. At least planning my work ensures me of a good success rate, and I suppose I should be grateful for that.

 

 

 

I work from my own photos and sketches. Many of my themes require trips in the car to a variety of places in Tasmania and on the Australian mainland. It’s rare that I’ll simply paint from one photo. I like to have a number of references to work from. Art isn’t about copying something, it’s about personally interpreting an idea.

PLAN 2

 

 

Visual diaries are invaluable when it comes to recording one’s thoughts and ideas. I regularly use a number of them. I always take a small diary with me when I’m travelling interstate. When you have an idea you must record it as soon as possible, otherwise it can be easily forgotten. Even a short sentence or two is sufficient to start with. You can always add a drawing or two at some later stage.

 

Planning also involves experimenting with media, colours and supports. One can learn so much from ‘trial and error’. Gathering the ‘right’ type of information will go a long way to ensuring the success of your painting, and we do want our art to be a satisfying experience, don’t we?

Richard

 

 

 

 

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RESEARCH & PREPARATION

  1. Denise says:

    Please keep going Richard. You are an great artist ans master of colour pencil. Thank you for your truthfulness on how hard you need to work each day to evolve as a artist .

Leave a Reply

