THAR SHE GROWS!


THAR SHE GROWSStep-by-step articles concerning the development of a piece of artwork are very informative. They give an insight into how each artist thinks and works. Today I have posted a series of photos showing how I began and worked through the task of a drawing that will feature in my exhibition at Table Cape, Tasmania in September.

Table Cape Landscape, 70 x 30cm, Prismacolor pencils on Canson pastel board.

From the bottom: I always begin by drawing the required detail in line using a Polychromos 10% warm grey pencil. This particular pencil works well on the brown ochre-coloured pastel board that I work on and it’s easily erased. My Prismacolor pencils also have no problem covering the lines. For accuracy I often use a grid, but not always.

Once the details are added, I don’t have a set method of adding the colour. Some times I begin at the top and work down, or bottom to top, but it doesn’t matter where I start as my pencils rarely smudge and I’m careful with my work. On large drawings I often cover areas with cartridge paper. Big drawings can be quite overwhelming, but they are much easier to tackle if you concentrate on one area at a time and cover the rest.

At the end of each day I cover my drawings with 2 coats of fixative. When completed I add 2 coats of Crystal Clear UV spray, followed by another coat or two prior to framing.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to THAR SHE GROWS!

  1. Dale Lysle says:

    Richard, thank you for this informative step by step piece. I never thought of using the poly warm grey to do the outline, this helps me for future works. This piece is very colourful, good luck in September.

  2. This new series and direction are really exciting Richard and I am a big fan of the development shots of people’s work. Thank you for sharing especially on how you fix and varnish your work, have you had any trouble with the prismacolor pencils fading with all your experience? Karen

    • artkleko says:

      I’ve had no problems with in regards to fading, Karen, but it is important to adequately seal each drawing upon its completion. As far as having framed work, one should always avoid direct light. This applies to all 2D artworks, regardless of the medium.

Leave a Reply

