TWIST AND SHOUT


TWIST“Twist and Shout”

80 x 50cm – Luminance and Prismacolor pencils on pastel board

For the past 18 months a lot of my artwork has been about the outstanding annual display of colour at Table Cape in Tasmania’s North West, beginning in late September through to October. In March I held an exhibition at the Brave Art Gallery in Longford, that featured 26 drawings, 9 of which were inspired by this region. This coming Sunday (Sept 28th) sees the opening of my latest exhibition that features 24 drawings at Table Cape, and featuring Table Cape’s tulip bloom.

This exhibition features realistic, semi-realistic and abstract work and is NOT about the tulips, it’s about the intense colour and its impact on the thousands of visitors that flock there each year. I will post a report about this exhibition in the coming weeks.

During the time that I have ‘explored’ this theme, I have endeavoured to be ‘different’ and constantly change the way I’m ‘seeing’ my subject. This has resulted in a variety of ‘interpretations’. My latest has centred on ‘distortion’. I have deliberately twisted and distorted rows of blooming tulips in somewhat of a surreal way. I quite like this way of seeing, and I’m interested to see where this journey will take me.

Art is just not about producing pretty pictures; it’s about taking risks, being different, being yourself. I feel compelled to try new ideas as often as I can. Working in themes is a great way to explore ideas without producing the same thing over and over again. After all, all artists are individuals, aren’t they?

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TWIST AND SHOUT

  1. I’m sure you will do well Richard, these new works are so vibrant and full of life!

Leave a Reply

