LUMINANCE PENCILS


tv-clouds-fb

“Tamar Valley Sky”, 27 x 35 cms

Luminance coloured pencils on Canson pastel board, own reference.

I have 28 brands of coloured pencils in my collection of around 3,ooo, but my favourite by far, is Luminance. Why? Lightfastness is very important, and this is where Luminance outshines every other brand, as they have the highest lightfast rating of any coloured pencil on the market. But that’s not the only reason I like them. The colours flow beautifully on to the pastel board that I use; they are easy to sharpen to a point; layer well; blend well; are easy to hold, and the core is strong enough not to break if a pencil is accidently dropped. The colours are rich and even, something I particularly like.

Luminance are the nicest, most responsive pencils that I have ever used since I began working in coloured pencils 30 years ago.

A couple of weeks ago, Sydney-based artist Karen Hull (herself an ambassador) nominated me and yesterday I received confirmation that I am now officially a Caran D’Ache promoter, which will see me conduct product workshops not only in Queensland, but Tasmania and anywhere else if they can be arranged.

My first  workshop will be with Luminance coloured pencils  this coming Monday (26th) at Mareeba on the Atherton Tablelands, west of Cairns where I live. Participants will be treated to a range of products, demonstrations and they will have the opportunity to ‘play’ with luminance pencils and even produce a drawing. I’m looking forward not only to the workshop, but the chance to promote what is a wonderful product.

One of the techniques that I will be demonstrating will be ‘how to draw realistic skies’ (without shading horizontally). All will be revealed on the day!

It may surprise some people, but I rarely draw on a white support, preferring colour, often quite dark. I love the ‘mood’ that coloured supports can bring to a drawing, much more than white. That’s my preference, but not the preference of many established cp artists. Viva la difference!

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to LUMINANCE PENCILS

  1. Congratulations you are a perfect ambassador for such a great brand. Karen

  2. Jacqui Douglas says:

    Congratulations! If you ever get to Sunshine Coast for a workshop, I’m in!!

Leave a Reply

