KNOW YOUR SUBJECT WELL


rocks-for-blogSome of the drawings that I’ve done over the past 2 weeks. Each is 45 x 32 cms, Prismacolor, DerwentArtist’s and Luminance pencils on Canson Mi Teintes paper.

I’ve received a few comments lately on Facebook regarding the speed at which I work. When I’m ‘in the zone’ I can complete a drawing in coloured pencil (up to 40 x 60 cms) in 2-3 days. This may seem very quick for a CP drawing, especially considering the comments I often read where people make the point about how long they spent on a particular drawing. If you don’t enjoy the process of creating something regardless of how long it takes, why do it in the first place? We all work at different ‘paces’ because of a variety of reasons both physical and emotional. I do work rather quickly, push my pencils firmly, and I ‘draw’ upon my 30 years of CP experience to keep myself focused to ensure that I don’t lose direction. If I tire of a particular drawing I move on to another one, then return later to the first one when I’m ready. I have been known to have 5 drawings ‘on the go’.

I’ve been complimented on my patience, but really, I’m often not that way inclined at all! How do I do it?

First of all, I’m always well prepared (my career as a teacher has helped me a lot in regards to being organised). I spend a lot of time researching (which I enjoy) each subject that I draw. I’ll visit the particular location (sometimes more than once), take many (many) photos, make notes in my diary and even collect ‘samples’ where I can. I also collect books about the history of the area in question, as this provides me with a better understanding (and appreciation) of what I’m looking at. In other words, I want to know (as well as I can) the character of my subject.

Working from a single photo trying to interpret what I ‘see’ doesn’t do it for me, unless I have prior knowledge about the subject in question. Often I’ll work with several photos.

Over the past 2 weeks I have completed 5 drawings featuring rocks from Tasmania, plus a commission. My preparation has paid off!

Know your subject well before you embark on creating an artwork and you will be rewarded!

Val and I are leaving Cairns at the end of next month and we’re re-locating to Port Macquarie. Long-term, Cairns isn’t for us, so it’s time to ‘hit the road’ and explore another part of Australia. I’m looking forward to some art teaching and finding a local gallery to show some of my work. Having already visited Port Macquarie, I have a large collection of photos, especially of the coastline that is noted for its wonderful beaches. I have a series of drawings in the pipeline which is a little different to my current subject. The idea came to me as we were dining out the other night.

This time we want to lease a house, not an apartment as we did in Cairns, and I’m looking for a much larger studio space.

I wish all my readers a wonderful Christmas and a very prosperous New Year. Thank you for your support, I very much appreciate it.

Best regards,

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to KNOW YOUR SUBJECT WELL

  1. Edna says:

    All tne best to you and Val on your next move. Hope you have a great Christmas.

  2. lynnnicholas says:

    Richard with regard to upping sticks and moving south towards Port Macquarie. Be sure to visit Lake Cathie (pronounced Cat eye). Beautiful beach and river and only 20 minutes south of Port.

  3. cindydrawpj says:

    These are such beautiful artworks Richard. Love the colour and composition.

Leave a Reply

