What the Jigsaw


“Climate Change Puzzle”

55 x 77 cms

Luminance & Museum Acquarelle coloured pencils on Canson pastel board.

Own reference.

I’ve been keen on jigsaws for as long as I can remember and I’ve wanted to create my own for some time. The idea of breaking up an image into small pieces and trying to put it back together intrigues me. There’s always a ‘right way’ to put such puzzles back together. But what if there wasn’t simply a ‘right’ way?

One of the advantages of working with abstraction is that it can be often viewed in different ways, as long as the composition has a focal point and is balanced. Realism-based puzzles on the other hand, have to be seen in one particular way to make sense.

Last week I decided to print copies of my 5 latest drawing that are part of my current theme of ‘Climate Change’. I cut each photo into squares and created some ‘jigsaw puzzles’ using randomly placed pieces. My research resulted in some exciting images, one of which is featured in today’s post. I have included a series of photos showing the drawing’s development.

If I were to cut out each of the 35, 11 cm squares in this drawing I could no doubt re-arrange them and thereby create a very different composition. Now there’s a challenge!

Each of the squares would make a good stand-alone painting, and that’s what I intend to do over the coming weeks using acrylics on (50cm square) canvas.

Is there any potential for commercially ‘enhancing’ this idea? Well, yes, but I’m not sure what the exact form will be. More work is required.

What I’m doing is actually ‘re-cycling’ some of my art and taking it into a very different realm of expression. That’s not a bad thing; in fact, it’s quite exciting in that it has opened up new possibilities.

I’ve started drawing up a second jigsaw, this time with a very 3D look. This one is quite complex with a high degree of difficulty and I’ll have to take my time. The key to this one will be that the puzzle is incomplete.

Time to get back to my easel!

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What the Jigsaw

  1. Jen says:

    I love where you’re heading with this.

  2. Mike Menius says:

    so exciting and unique, what you are doing. There may be commercial opportunities here. A number of artists are finding that fabric designers want to buy their designs. Check with Cynthia Haase, CPSA. She has sold a number of her pastels, for use on scarves, clothes, etc.

Leave a Reply

