Review: 24 New Luminance Colours


“Lake Barrington Forest Floor 7.”

27 x 40 cms

All 24 of the latest Luminance pencils plus a Pitt Pen on 300 gsm Canson cp w/c paper.

Own reference.

Luminance coloured pencils are my favourite out of the 40 sets of CPs that I own. Being an ambassador for Caran d’Ache in Australia may lead you to believe that I’m paid to have such an opinion, but I can assure you that this isn’t the case. I call things as I see them and I’m never ‘persuaded’ to think otherwise. I was a Luminance fan long before I was asked to be an Australian ambassador and I only accepted the role because I enjoy working with Caran d’Ache products. Their quality is unrivalled, the range and presentation of their products is first class and I (still) believe that Luminance pencils are the best on the planet. I’m not being biased (I still use Polychromos, Prismacolor & the Derwent range of pencils on occasions), it’s simply a case of recognizing the best CPs for the way I draw. Luminance, Supracolor, Museum Aquarelle and Pablo are all fabulous to work with in my opinion. I will also add that I’m a ‘tester’ for Derwent Cumberland and I do enjoy in particular their Lightfast and Coloursoft pencils.

Luminance are a wax-based pencil with smooth/creamy performance and up until now have been available in 76 colours. I have always felt that this was somewhat of a negative, considering their lightfast qualities and strength of pigments. Not anymore! There are now 100 colours to choose from with the recent release of a portrait set (20) and 4 additional colours. What do they look like?

Caran d’Ache kindly sent me their latest 24 colours plus their new blender (to be reviewed later) to try and I wasn’t disappointed. Although a ‘portrait set’ (20/24), they performed admirably in my latest ‘Forest Floor’ drawing. I’m a landscape artist not a portrait painter and I initially thought that the new colours may challenge me in regards to my chosen subject. Any concerns were quickly dismissed!

Before I discuss the merits of the 24 pencils in question, I’d like to focus on the presentation standard of the portrait set and indeed the range of sets available. The cardboard box that houses the pencils I consider a brilliant initiative. Each pencil fits snuggly into its foam surround. There is no rattling or chance of physical disturbance. These pencils (along with their entire range) are made of top-quality timber casings, are tough and easy to hold. There are also tins and wooden boxes available, each having their own type of pencil housing.

Not being a portrait artist, I began with the lighter colours then gradually worked my way through the range to the darkest (Dark Indigo). I don’t normally blend my colours but on this occasion I had to as some in their natural state weren’t suited to the palette of a cool temperate rainforest floor. Blending wasn’t an issue. Every pencil performed as it should. Sharpening was a breeze using both my Ledah 333 electric sharpener and my Caran d’Ache handled sharpener. I obtained good points for intricate areas and the covering power of each pencil was impressive.

Being a landscape artist, I tend to favour colours related to my subject, but there were a few pleasant surprises: Pink White (a great companion for Buff Titanium), Light Flesh 10%, Dark Flesh 5%, Teracotta, Dark Cadmium Orange, Middle Verdigris, Dark Flesh & Dark Indigo.

The verdict? I’m fully aware that Luminance pencils are more expensive than most brands and I’ve read some complaints on social media that consider their cost a negative, but remember, you get what you pay for. Luminance pencils are worth every cent! I consider them the best quality pencils on the market. These pencils are an investment and a joy to work with!

Is the range 100 colours enough? Probably not. I would like to see more, 20 in fact. Most of the other major brands offer between 120 and 150 colours. Prismacolor’s 150 for example offers a superb range of greys and earthy colours, Derwent Lightfast, greens and earthy tones, while Polychromos has a great range of blues. Luminance now has 3 shades of white (Buff Titanium is my favourite). I rank their pure white second behind their Museum Aquarelle version as the best for strength and covering power. The Prismacolor White I rank as number 3. The addition of more greys, lighter blues and lighter earthy colours would be most welcome.

I’m sure that most coloured pencil artist have their favourite brands and are very loyal to them. It’s the same when it comes to cars! One thing I can assure you is that Luminance pencils will never let you down.

Tip: CPs always work better in warm conditions. I vividly remember when I was working in the Australian Tropics and how my Luminance pencils performed like paint from a brush!

Richard

 

 

 

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Review: 24 New Luminance Colours

  1. Great review and a great read Richard. I don’t do works in CP all that much, but have treated myself to three last time I was browsing in an art store – green ochre, naples ochre and french grey. I’ve not had all that much experience in using pencils, especially with blending. Would love to come to a workshop one day. Stay well!

    • artkleko says:

      Thank you Mary-Anne. They certainly are exceptional pencils. I’m hoping to conduct classes next year, depending on the situation on the mainland. Trust that you are well. 😊

  2. That is certainly a resounding endorsement! After a complete studio overhaul I now have all my pencils out in a drawer for easy access, but I have found that inexplicably I have managed to misplace my Luminance pencils, I had a tin of (I think) 20 (maybe 15?) and enjoyed using them. Having turned the house upside down and still not found them, I have decide to buy more, and maybe a larger set, so have been doing research, trying to decide between Luminance and the Derwent Lightfast, but maybe I will start with this portrait set, I love the look of the colours. Would you recommend this approach, or just go mad and order up the 76 set of Luminance?

    • artkleko says:

      Now that 100 colours are available, Anna, it’s a big decision! It depends on your drawing subjects. The portrait set is excellent but you may need a few extra colours. Enjoy!

  3. PS I have found my tin of Luminance, and have also bought the portrait set, so now have a great selection of colours! Thanks again for the review Richard!

  4. artkleko says:

    YouTube will have the information you require, Desmond.

  5. simao says:

    eu quero muito esses lápis , mas todas as lojas que encontro são muito caras e os meus pais não estão dispostos a pagar tanto por tão pouca qualidade e acreditam que a qualidade não compensa. por favor diga-me onde comprar de forma barata(se é que isso é possivel)
    mas por agora estou mesmo de mãos atadas e a abarrotar de desenhos inacabados, o que me deixa de coração partido.

    • artkleko says:

      Gracias por tu comentario, pero no sé dónde comprar lápices Supracolor baratos. Te sugiero que busques en Interent y encuentres un precio más barato. Estos lápices son de la más alta calidad, por lo que cuestan más que muchos otros lápices de colores.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.