IN PRAISE OF LUMINANCE PENCILS


I consider Luminance coloured pencils to be the best pencil I have ever used. Their quality is unsurpassed and I’m guaranteed a first class result every time I use them. Admittedly, they aren’t cheap but you pay for what you get!

At this point I must state that I’m an Ambassador for Caran d’Ache in Australia. It’s an honorary position and I doubt that the company’s headquarters in Geneva know that I even exist. I do though believe in sharing what I think about art materials and I’m honestly impressed with all the products from Caran d’Ache that I have tried. Besides Luminance pencils I have Supracolor, Museum Aquarelle, Pablo and Prismalo. I use all of these from time to time, depending on what I’m trying to achieve with each particular drawing.

Luminance pencils are in a class of their own. Their pigments are rich and easy to lay down (except Casel Earth). They particularly perform well when they are warm, as do other brands of oil/wax pencil. They are large by pencil standards and (for me) can be difficult to hold at times due to the shiny finish on wooden barrels. I do wish they’d make a lightweight extender specifically for this pencil!

Now boasting a range of 100 colours, Luminance pencils offers an excellent palette choice for artists. Maybe one day there will be 120! I certainly hope so.

I find Supracolors an excellent companion for Luminance and more often than not, I use both, particularly in my abstract drawings. Both pencils don’t require fixing as they are lightfast and I’ve never experienced any fading.

All of the artwork shown has been drawn using Luminance pencils.

Have you tried Luminance pencils? You should.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to IN PRAISE OF LUMINANCE PENCILS

  1. Hello Richard – my Luminance pencils are my favourites now too, they are consistently reliable in colour and ease of use. I have added Derwent Lightfast too, as these have some colours not in my collection of Luminance, and they seem to complement them well. The Luminance have the vibrancy of Prismacolors without the worry of lack of lightfastness, not to mention breaking!

  2. Véran Mireille says:

    Very beautiful colours indeed! But the art of the painter is very primordial too!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.