ZEN LANDSCAPE


My 6th pastel painting in my Midlands series is devoid of the usual detail that my work contains. It is true to say that lately my work has been about ‘less’ rather than ‘more’.

On the way to Hobart (Tasmania’s capital city) some months ago, we passed a field that was grassed and there were 5 trees in a row. It looked a little strange. Why were those trees there and it that particular formation?

The dry, grassy hill with 2 dead trees in the background made for a composition that I had to paint.

 

I find this type of scene very meditative, calming and relaxing, the result of not including too much detail. Most of my Midlands series is lacking in ‘heavy’ detail. I seem to be gradually making my paintings simpler and I like this approach. It’s hard to work out what one isn’t including, more so that what to include.

 

I want my pastels (where possible) to contain only as much information as is needed, the rest is up to the viewers’ imagination.

Richard

 

 

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ZEN LANDSCAPE

  1. dalesart216 says:

    Wow! I REALLY like this one. As you say less is more. The simplicity of it is what is appealing, I think. I also like the starkness of the background compared to the green foreground. It’s like two different realities.

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks Dale. Your description is spot-on, and I’m planning a return visit to the area soon. I’m starting to head to where I want to go, but I’m not sure how my work will develop. I suppose that’s the ‘fun’ part of being an artist!

  2. I like this journey into “less is more”. Your pastel paintings mesmerize me with their beauty and simplicity. Your forms are distinct. And again the blue sky constrast with gold sand and greenery are a perfect match. Great work Richard.

    • artkleko says:

      Thank you Walter, I’m enjoying this journey of ‘attempted minimalism’, although this coming Friday’s image contains area of both simplicity and complexity. I’m searching for the right ‘balance’. I just need to keep looking!

  3. Gillian says:

    Those trees are like lost souls. This is a very spiritual piece, Richard – I like this new direction.

  4. Jamie Dedes says:

    Oddly wistful, but lovely.
    Appreciate the challenge of less is more … it’s the same when writing poetry …

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.