GLOVER PRIZE 2010


I have  completed my entry form for next year’s Glover Art Prize and have enclosed a small “snippet”. My entry is very different from the one that was selected for this year’s exhibition.

It would be true to say that this drawing has been the most challenging that I’ve ever undertaken and I’m pleased with the results. I have spent countless hours on this large (107 x 80 cm) coloured pencil drawing. It’s now up to the selection panel to decide its fate. I know it’s not about how long one’s entry takes, it’s how successful it is deemed to be by those charged with deciding what makes the final list.

Entering art awards is never easy and one has to accept the verdict firstly of the selection panel, the judges and the public. But that should not stop any artist from “having a go”.

The Glover Art Prize is Australia’s richest award for landscape painting and is worth $35,000 plus a $5,000 bronze maquette of John Glover. Entries close on January 22.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to GLOVER PRIZE 2010

  1. Lorraine McNeair says:

    Love the texture in your works, Richard.

  2. Gillian says:

    Very exciting, Richard. I wish you good luck for this. So intriguing! Will we get to see the full size at some point?

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks Gillian, I will post the full image, but I’ll wait until the selection process is complete. If I make the final, it won’t be until the exhibition opens in early March. If I’m unsuccessful it will be after Feb 5.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.